Charlton Fire District Organizational Meeting Minutes January 8, 2025

PUBLIC MEETING: The public meeting of the Charlton Fire District was called to order on

January 8, 2024 at 6:00pm

PRESENT: Dan Martin, Stephen Dyer, Janet Reville, Ryan McDonald, Tracey Lyons, and George Davidson

ABSENT:

Oath of Office

Tracey Lyons, George Davidson, and Erin Waite were all sworn into office.

Board Elects Chairman

Motion to elect Stephen Dyer as Chairman of the Board for the 2025 year made by Janet Reville and seconded by Dan Martin. Approve 4-0-1

Treasurer Appointment

Motion to appoint George Davidson as Treasurer for the 2025 year made by Dan Martin and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

Deputy Treasurer Appointment

Motion to appoint Erin Waite as Deputy Treasurer for the 2025 year made by Dan Martin and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

District Secretary Appointment

Motion to appoint Erin Wate as Secretary for the 2025 year made by Ryan McDonald and seconded by Tracey Lyons. Approved 5-0-0

Board Appoints Chief

Motion to appoint Christian DeCapria as Chief of the Charlton Fire Department for the 2025 year was made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

Board Appoints Assistant Chief

Motion to appoint Aaron Dyer as Assistant Chief of the Charlton Fire Department for the 2025 year was made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Ryan McDonald. Approved 5-0-0

Notification to Media of Organizational Meeting

A legal notice for this organizational meeting was sent to The Daily Gazette and received by The Daily Gazette.

Official Newspaper

Motion to designate The Daily Gazette as the Charlton Fire District's official newspaper of record for all legal and public notices was made by Ryan McDonald and seconded by Dan Martin. Approved 5-0-0

Appoint of Attorney

Motion to reappoint Terry Hannigan as the District's attorney for the 2025 year made by Janet Reville and seconded by Dan Martin. Approved 5-0-0

Review of District Policies

Motion to adopt all policies of the Charlton Fire District #1 made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

Chief DeCapria will send email out to the board on how to access ESO and how to view the district policies.

Review of Retention Policy

Motion to approve Records Retention and Disposition Policy made by Dan Martin and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

Review Committees for the 2025 Year

Motion to adopt the following committees of the Charlton Fire District #1 made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Ryan McDonald. Approved 5-0-0

- Facilities Management Janet Reville
- Apparatus and Equipment Dan Martin
- Firematic Training and Fire Prevention Committee Stephen Dyer
- Radio Communications and Information Technology Committee Ryan McDonald
- Staff Relations/Code of Ethics Committee Tracey Lyons

Review Resolution pursuant to 176-A authorizing the Treasurer to pay recurring bills.

Motion to approve resolution authorizing the Treasurer to pay the following recurring bills made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

- County Waste
- Atypica approved to pay Atypica for full year.
- A-Pro Cleaning
- National Grid
- Spectrum
- Town of Charlton (Truck Fuel)
- G.A. Bove Fuels
- Reliable Roll-offs
- FASNY (District Credit Card)

Treasurer's Report

Motion to authorize the Treasurer, within 60-days after the end of the fiscal year, to submit a copy of the annual report (AUD) to the Department of Audit and Control. Approved 5-0-0

Note: George Davidson will reach out to KeyBank to remove Jake Malagisi as a bank signatory and add Tracey Lyons.

Appointment of Records Officer

Motion was made to appoint Erin Waite as the records office for the 2025 year by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Dan Martin. Approved 5-0-0

Official Depositories

Motion to designate KeyBank as the Charlton Fire District's depository for 2025 year made by Janet Reville and seconded by Ryan McDonald. Approved 5-0-0

Board Meeting Dates for 2024

The dates of regular and special meetings for 2025 are as follows:

January 8, 2025 Organizational Meeting @ 6pm

January 8, 2025 Commissioner Meeting @ 7pm

February 5, 2025

March 5, 2025

April 2, 2025

May 7, 2025 – Amsure (David Meager) attending

June 4, 2025

July 2, 2025

August 6, 2025

September 3, 2025

October 1, 2025

Budget Mtg. – October 15, 2025

November 5, 2025

December 3, 2025

December 9, 2025 – Elections

Approval of Membership in the Association of Fire Districts of the State of NY (AFDSNY), Firemen's Association for the State of NY (FASNY), National Fire Protection Association, and Capital Area Fire District Association (CAFDA)

Motion to approve maintaining the current memberships above made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Ryan McDonald. Approved 5-0-0

Mutual Aid Agreements and Contracts

Motion to approve mutual aid agreements with West Charlton, Harmony Corners, Burnt Hills, East Glenville Fire Departments, and the County made by Dan Martin and seconded by Janet Reville. Approved 5-0-0

Leases and Contracts

Motion to approve the following annual leases/contracts made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Ryan McDonald. Approved 5-0-0

- Ricoh for maintenance of the copy machine in the firehouse
- A-Pro Cleaning for cleaning contract
- Reliable Roll-offs for snow removal contract
- Airgas for the lease on oxygen tanks
- Atypica for the website maintenance/hosting
- Postmaster for lease of PO Box
- County Waste for waste disposal
- Eastern Heating & Cooling
- Cummins

Review and Renewal of Physical Examination Program

Motion to designate an outside firm (at the discretion of the Chiefs) for the annual firefighter physicals made by Tracey Lyons and seconded by Dan Martin. Approved 5-0-0

Physical Fitness Program

Motion to continue the physical fitness program allotting \$125 per firefighter to the fitness center of their choice made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Dan Martin. Approved 5-0-0

Per Diem & Mileage Reimbursement Rates

Motion to adopt GSA per diem rates as per federal guidelines and mileage reimbursement rate * for 2025 as per IRS guidelines made by Stephen Dyer and seconded by Ryan McDonald. Approved 5-0-0 *2025 business mileage rate set by IRS is \$0.70 cents per mile

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn made by Dan Martin and seconded by Tracey Lyons. Approved 5-0-0 (6:36pm)